Writing

Write On.

For those of you who don’t know, I kept a blog while I was abroad in Aix-en-Provence, France this past spring. I enjoyed it so much that I decided to start this one where I can write about anything and everything and hope (fingers crossed) that maybe someone will find something of importance or amusement in what I have to say. (Such woe is the human desire for approval.)

So, with that being said, welcome to the public domain of my brain.

The first thing I want to write about is, well, writing.

Writing has always been an outlet for me. I’ve been putting pen to paper, creating people and places and perspectives, since I could form the letters of the alphabet. When I turned 13, my journal was my best friend. I poured my teenage angst and lovesick heart over a myriad of white pages with blue lines. When I got to college, I found my place in poetry and fiction and classics and plays. I’ve spent countless hours reading, listening to lectures, trying to understand and relate to all kinds of writers. I even studied literature in another language while I lived in France.

Needless to say, my life is wrapped up in words. And I absolutely love it.

Lately, though, I haven’t had the chance to really write for myself. I think back to the days in my early teens when I couldn’t sleep at night until I wrote down all the important things that happened that day.

So, that’s what this blog is about. Writing what I want to write about. Taking my daily thoughts and turning them into something I’ll look back on and be thankful I recorded. It’s my own little self-publishing company (hence the title).

I think a large part of writing, too, is being brave and allowing yourself to be vulnerable. I can keep a journal all I want and make sure no one ever sees it. But a blog is very different. Anyone and everyone can see it and judge you however they want. That is a risk writers must take. What if Shakespeare never allowed his plays to be performed? What if Toni Morrison never allowed her beautiful words to be published? What if your favorite musician never sought out to be recorded? We would be missing out on so much.

I’m no Toni Morrison, and certainly no Shakespeare, but there is something about putting yourself out there that is a giant step in the right direction. Thankfully, blogs are a wonderfully free way to do that.

Like Bill Stout, an American broadcast journalist, said, “Whether or not you write well, write bravely.”

Time to start being brave.

Leave a response...

