Life · Travel

España Mañana!

I turned on my computer a few minutes ago and a little alert popped up in the upper righthand corner:

Spain
Tomorrow

December seems like forever ago. I first heard about the opportunity to travel to Granada, Spain when I was home during winter break. My home church would be traveling there sometime in the summer on a short-term trip and that’s all I knew. I had no idea what we would be doing, who we would be working with, how much it would cost… But I knew I wanted to join the team, especially after visiting Sevilla, Spain while I was abroad last spring. I absolutely fell in love with that city, so I jumped at the chance to travel back to that part of the country.

As far as I know, here is what we will be doing: We are helping run two camps for kids, one for younger children and one for adolescents. These camps will provide the kids with a program that will help improve their abilities to read, write, and speak English. These camps also allow kids to participate in playing sports and making crafts.

If I’m being totally honest, I haven’t really started packing yet (packing is my mortal enemy). Although, I did have fun at Target with my mom yesterday, picking through the travel section and buying snacks.

Spain packing

And besides the whole packing ordeal, another challenge is that I don’t speak any Spanish at all. But somehow, I don’t feel nervous or anxious or fearful of what the next ten days will bring. I can hardly believe I will be setting foot in Europe again. Perhaps my previous experience and fond memories of Europe are helping dissipate any negative feelings, but I know this time will be completely different from the time I spent studying there. If God taught me anything last spring, it was to always trust Him because He is faithful and uses everything for our good, and ultimately His glory (Romans 8:28).

We leave tomorrow, seven people who are as ready as we can be to serve and lend a hand where it is needed. I am looking forward to meeting all the kids at the camp and the other leaders we will be working alongside. I also can’t wait to see how God uses all of us and our different gifts.

When we return, I will definitely post another blog entry about our time there (with pictures!). In the meantime, if you could please pray for our team that we would be unified, open to what God has to teach us, and willing to serve the people in Granada.

Until then, I leave you with one of the happiest moments of my time spent abroad and a hopeful glimpse at these next ten days:

El Sol

Leave a response...

