Inspiration · Life

Morning Ride

“Do not be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better. What if they are a little coarse and you may get your coat soiled or torn? What if you do fail, and get fairly rolled in the dirt once or twice? Up again, you shall never be so afraid of a tumble.” ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

What a quote to sum up my morning. The crisp spring morning air was undeniable. The sunshine looked pristine from my apartment windows. Taking advantage of it was a must.

They say you never forget how to ride a bike, which is true. But fear can make you think you’ve forgotten. It can make you think of every horrible possibility. “What if…?”

And then someone says, “I want you to take risks. I want you to be fearless. You can do this.” Sometimes we need a small push from someone we love to remind us that our strength is not lost. And even if we do tumble, we can get back up again.

Next thing I knew, I was joyfully pedaling around a path that surrounds a beautiful lake, thanking the One who is my strength.

The Sovereign Lord is my strength! He makes me as surefooted as a deer, able to tread upon the heights. Habakkuk 3:19

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7

One thought on “Morning Ride

  1. Oh this strikes such a cord of “fearfulness” yes, even a a child I was fearful of riding a bike, so I may not try again at
    this age but as for other fears……..I Praise the LORD for his instructions to us that you shared. May HE give me the
    strength to “put away all my fears” LOVE your writings.

Leave a response...

