Books · Music

Lately: “What I’m Into” Edition

True confessions: I love awards season. I really do.

Now, this makes absolutely no sense to Nate because to him, anything having to do with awards shows = the boringest of the boring and the annoyingest of the annoying. But whatever, no backing out now cuz #marriage, so occasionally he will humor me and watch with me while I gawk in wonder and applaud my favorite celebs. The dresses, the red carpet interviews, the hosts, the speeches, the awkward music that ends the speeches, the jokes both funny and less than funny – I love it all.

Sadly, when we moved to NC, we opted not to have cable, so this year is majorly lacking in red carpets for me. But, in the spirit of awards season, I have been inspired to share some of my favorite things as of late. I give to you…

What I’m Into:

WORDS

I’ve been kind of off my blog-reading game lately, but every now and then I come across posts or articles that rock. For example:

  • “A Place to Lay My Heart” by Elisabeth Eaves for the New York Times – “I wanted a dining room table, I realized. I wanted a dining room. Living in Paris at 34, I had awakened and realized that I wanted to go home, only to discover that I had no home to go to.”
  • “Why We Write About Ourselves” by Maria Popova for Brain Pickings – “It’s a misapprehension that readers have that by writing memoir you’re purging yourself of your demons. Writing memoir has the opposite effect. It embeds your story deep inside you. It mediates the relationship between the present and the past by freezing a moment in time.”
  • “The Most Important Ingredient to Improve Your Marriage” by Tim Lane“When conflict emerges, [the couple is] able to weather the challenge because they have already built relationship resilience. It doesn’t mean that a couple won’t ever struggle, but it will take a much bigger conflict to rock the relationship.”
  • “Adele: Reckoning with Our Future Selves” by Katharine Rose for On Being – “In a world where mystery is quickly dispelled by access to a portal of answers at our fingertips (“Google it!”), where life’s pace is nothing short of hurried, Adele invites us to do something rare: to stop and think, reflect and recall, question and feel.”
  • And these words, written after the death of David Bowie and days before the death of Alan Rickman:

books

These are the books I’m currently reading, which is funny to me because I always thought I was a one-book-at-a-time type of person, but I’m actually really enjoying the overlap. I am an avid Goodreads updater, so follow me there if you have an account!

  • For The Love by Jen Hatmaker – JH has grown an amazing platform for women of faith, and I’m so thankful for people like her who are willing to put themselves out there to encourage and empower us. Plus, IF:gathering this weekend! Hooray for IF:local!
  • Jesus the King by Tim Keller – The original title of this book was “King’s Cross,” so maybe you know it by that name, but either way, this book is powerful. It’s all about “understanding the life and death of the Son of God” through studying the book of Mark. We are reading it in our Life Groups at church, and our pastors are going through a series on Mark according to this book, and man – Every chapter is just another reminder that I can never stop learning about who Christ was and is and what that means for my own life. So good.
  • A Brief Orientation to Counseling: Professional Identity, History, and Standards by Ed Neukrug – I’m currently in the process of applying to grad school for professional counseling, so a kind friend lent this book to me. Prayers are always appreciated as I continue down this path! :)

podcasts

Nate and I are obsessed with podcasts, and it’s very likely that you are, too. In any case, here are some of my favorite podcast episodes from some of my most loved podcasts:

  • “The Fix” from RadioLab – “This episode we take a sober look at the throbbing, aching, craving desire states that return people (again and again) to the object of their addiction … and the pills that just might set them free.”
  • “The Cathedral” from Reply All – “Amy and Ryan Green’s one-year-old son is diagnosed with cancer and begins an agonizing period of treatment. And then, one night in the hospital, Ryan has a strange epiphany: this whole terrible ordeal should be a video game.”
  • “If You Don’t Have Anything Nice to Say, SAY IT IN ALL CAPS” from This American Life – “It’s safe to say whatever you want on the Internet; nobody will know it’s you. But that same anonymity makes it possible for people to say all the awful things that make the Internet such an annoying and sometimes frightening place.”
  • “Amber C. Haines: Desire, Sin, Shame and Finding God in Broken Places” from MudStories – “Jacque Watkins interviews Amber Haines, author of Wild in the Hollow, about shame, rescue and redemption. Amber discusses, as she does in her book, her experience with promiscuity, drug addiction, abortion, and an affair, and how she met God in her brokenness again and again.”

tv

Remember how Nate and I don’t have cable? Yeah, so, this section is basically just “what I’m binge-watching on Netflix.”

  • Parenthood – Do I even have to explain myself? This show is amazing and it helps me get all my emotions out. I wish it never had to end.

tumblr_mvyc02vRxM1r6q4k3o2_500

  • 30 Rock – Nate and I are watching this one together, and oh my gosh. SO GOOD. Truthfully, I can’t believe how long ago it aired and how long it took me to realize how hilarious it is. The jokes are so quick, I can’t even look down at my phone during an episode or else we have to rewind it. Every time Jenna sings, I crack up. Also, Kenneth forever.

tumblr_mdk4961fqK1qa1k28o1_500

  • Fixer-Upper – So sad there is only one season so far on Netflix. This show is my happy place.

anigif_enhanced-27138-1452625894-6

music

I have an ever-growing, ever-evolving playlist on Spotify that I have creatively named “Cool Songs.” I think it will give you a pretty good idea of what I’m listening to these days. (If you can’t see the playlist below, you can access it here.)

Enjoy, friends!

Signature

2 thoughts on “Lately: “What I’m Into” Edition

Leave a response...

